November – December 2020


November – December 2020

Prof. Debabrata Das is the Project Investigator/Project Director for the project of Advanced Communication System under the National Mission for Interdisciplinary Cyber-Physical System (NM-ICPS) from Dept. of Science and Technology, Government of India. The project has been sanctioned Rs150 crore to set up the Technology Incubation Hub (TIH) in IIIT Bangalore in the areas of 5G and Beyond. The project has two IITs and IIITs as collaborators.


Vinay C K, alumnus IIIT Bangalore is the joint winner of Innovative Student Projects Award 2020, for his thesis that has been selected by the Indian National Academy for Engineering (INAE). The award consists of Rs.15000 which will be jointly shared by the two Awardees.


Prof. Jaya Sreevalsan Nair will be serving as an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology (TCSVT) for a 2-year term starting 1st January 2021.

Dr. Sunil Kumar Vuppala, alumnus IIIT Bangalore has been awarded the Engineering Manager of The Year (EMOTY) 2020 by IEEE TEMS India. EMOTY Award is the prestigious award given to the best engineering professionals by IEEE TEMS India.

Swasti Shreya Mishra (IMT2017043) has been awarded the prestigious Adobe India Women in Technology Scholarship 2021.

The scholarship covers tuition fees of the university education ending in the academic year 2022. It also offers an opportunity to participate in Summer Internship at Adobe India in 2021 and Grace Hopper Conference India. She has won this scholarship along with other 6 students across India.

Academic Milestones

August 20: Mukesh Shrivastava(PH2018011) completed his comprehensive examination

September 03: Apurva Kulkarni(PH2018020) completed her comprehensive examination

October 15: Jatin Chaudhary(PH2017001) completed his comprehensive examination

November 09: Nikhila K N(PH2017003) completed her state of art seminar

November 10: Jayati Deshmukh(PH2018023) completed her comprehensive examination

November 26: Debanjali Bhattacharya(PH2015018) completed her Ph.D. open Seminar on “Quantitative MRI image signatures on neurodegeneration and neuro-oncology”

December 03: Karishma(PH2018010) completed her comprehensive examination

December 09: Nithya Ganesan(PH2018018) completed her comprehensive examination

December 14: Abhishek Singh(PH2015001) completed his open seminar


The International Institute of Information Technology Bangalore is a technical and research university in Bangalore, India. The Institute is a registered not-for-profit society funded jointly by the Government of Karnataka and the IT industry under a public-private partnership model.

For more details: Visit